Hong Kong & Taiwan 2011 – part 1

19Dec11

 

Lufthansa are pretty good. Or at least they were this time. Their employees were pleasant (and the passengers too). I made the connection in Munich, even though the plane was delayed by 40 minutes.

We even got a menu, describing our 3 course meals, like in a fine restaurant. The meal itself was the same as on any normal flight, but it felt good all the same.

I can never really believe that I’ll get all the way to the other side of the world. If you combine Murphy’s law and something as complicated as a commercial aircraft, it should not be possible. But they prove me wrong, time and time again.

Still, it’s a long flight. When we finally got to HK it was evening here. I took the mtr over to HK island, found my way to Yessinn Hostel, and by then it was pretty late.

A friend recommended Yessinn to me, and for a budget hostel it seems a perfect balance between price & comfort.

After leaving my stuff in the innermost corner there, I went out and walked around a bit, looking for something to eat. After studying for a few years, ordering food here is still pretty much waving my hands and making universal sounds of hunger and confusion, but as long as I get to eat I’m happy.

Afterwards I looked around a bit, for signs of Chrismas celebration so far from home, and the prospects are colorful.

Day 2

I won’t write this much later on, but wanted to let everyone know I got  where I planned to, and am having fun.

Today I woke up around 6:30, and an hour later I gave up trying to fall asleep again, got up, went out looking for breakfast, but found eagles instead. Or at least some kind of ginormous birds, playing around between the rooftops.

When I see that kind of thing back home, it’s usually just one, and maybe, and very far away, over some hilltop. So seeing them like this, outside peoples windows, was really something. At most I saw seven of them, all in one place. Really whish I’d had a better lens for my camera.

But I didn’t, and so, here follows a bunch of photos with small smudges on them, that could be birds, of uncertain dimensions.

After that, I headed back down the stairs, into the city, and finally got some breakfast at a Yoshinoya. All in all, a great way to begin the day, and my stay here.

Hope you are all doing well, both back home and everywhere else! See you soon!



3 Responses to “Hong Kong & Taiwan 2011 – part 1”

  1. 1 Jan

    Well you certainly got this blog up and running right away – to our delight. We look forward to the next installment.

  2. 謝謝你把台北寫進去你的網誌裡,我看得津津有味


Leave a Reply

